Courthouse Hours:
Monday - Friday   

8:30am - 12:00pm (closed for lunch)
1:00pm - 5:00pm 
Office hours may vary by department

Closed on weekends

Holiday Closures:

New Year’s Day, January 1st
Martin Luther King Jr. Day, the 3rd Monday in January
President’s Day, the 3rd Monday in February
Good Friday, the Friday proceeding Easter Sunday
Memorial Day, the last Monday in May
Independence Day, July 4th
Labor Day, the 1st Monday in September
Veterans’ Day, November 11th
Thanksgiving Day, the 4th Thursday in November along with the Friday that follows
Christmas Eve, December 24th (offices close at noon)
Christmas Day, December 25th

If January 1st, July 4th, November 11th or December 25th falls on a Sunday, the following Monday shall be the holiday.  If these holidays fall on Saturday, the preceding Friday is the holiday.

Emmons County
​ Courthouse

Emmons County was organized in 1883 and has a colorful history. Its early political history had a virtual battle waged between Linton and Williamsport which eventually ended up in Linton.  After moving the county seat to Linton, the Patterson lean-to was used until an official courthouse was built in 1901 and has had 3 different courthouse buildings. The current building was constructed in 1934. 

Today we continue running county government out of the 1934 Courthouse, with County Officials and many employees, along with 5 County Commissioners, managing the County’s responsibility and duties.

Mission Statement:  We are here to serve all citizens of Emmons County with fairness, honesty, and justice to our best ability.

​Click below for population info!

Emmons County Facebook Page